Wednesday, July 27, 2011

Thursday, July 21, 2011

Sunday, April 24, 2011

Things To Not Do

Gone are the gorgeous double brackets (look for twin pale brick areas at the corners of the house) from this pretty, modest italianate, replaced by 'low maintenance' vinyl fascia, soffits, and moulding. Some things just shouldn't ever be done...

Friday, February 18, 2011

A Very Sad Story



Would you move to Detroit if the city gave you a free house?

The continual shift, change, and decline of the American economy has given rise to urban wastelands of abandoned inner city homes. Virtually every major urban center in the USA has swaths of urban decay as pictured to some degree... Detroit, Cleveland, Baltimore, Boston, Philadelphia, Minneapolis - St. Paul, Chicago, Atlanta... The list goes ever on. Many of the images are utterly heartbreaking, these magnificent homes that have stood tall and proud for well over a hundred years, now left to decay and fall into ruin.


Tuesday, October 12, 2010

Thursday, October 7, 2010

Wednesday, October 6, 2010

Tuesday, October 5, 2010

Monday, October 4, 2010

Watson's Mill - Manotick Ontario

Friday, October 1, 2010

Thursday, September 30, 2010

Wednesday, September 29, 2010

Alex Spratt House - Manotick Ontario

A fine example of mid-nineteenth century classical revival (or neo-classical) architecture. The colours are most likely true to the original colours, or colours used in the era of construction. If this house were located south of the border, it would be referred to as Federal style architecture. This is the house that the owners of the later named 'Watson Mill' in Manotick lived in. 


Click this link to see a photo of a magnificent Federal style house in the United States... any similarities?

Monday, September 27, 2010

Friday, September 24, 2010

Thursday, September 23, 2010

Wednesday, September 22, 2010

Tuesday, September 21, 2010

Monday, September 20, 2010

Friday, September 17, 2010

Thursday, September 16, 2010

Wednesday, April 21, 2010

Tuesday, April 20, 2010

Petite Queen Anne - Hamilton Ontario


Nice house... and nice car!


Monday, April 19, 2010

Friday, April 16, 2010

Stately Queene Anne - Hamilton Ontario

A magnificent Queen Anne in Hamilton, apart from the architecturally lifeless addition to the left of the bay window, which appears to have grown through the porch roof.
The picture window revealing the modern staircase clashes with the rest of the house. I dread to have a look inside this duplexed regal lady, for what might be found.

Thursday, April 15, 2010

Queen Anne - Hamilton Ontario

Wednesday, April 14, 2010

Tuesday, April 13, 2010

Monday, April 12, 2010

Friday, April 9, 2010

Tuesday, February 16, 2010

Gone For A Bit

Sorry to all those 'Google Image' searchers who wind up at this site, but I am feeling a bit worn out, and am taking a break for a while.

Friday, February 12, 2010

Simple Ontario Cottage - Galt Ontario


A nice and simple Ontario Cottage, with some elements of the Gothic Revival and Regency styles. The front porch could certainly be improved however.

Thursday, February 11, 2010

Magnificent Cottage - Galt Ontario


Now here is where I get a bit confused. This particularly fine example of a State Farm Office in Galt looks remarkably similar to many of the Gothic revival homes I posted just over a week ago. But is it? Or is it a wonderfully understated example of a fine Regency style Ontario cottage? Please help!

Wednesday, February 10, 2010

Cement Block Victorian - Galt Ontario

Tuesday, February 9, 2010

Red Brick Victorian - Galt Ontario

Monday, February 8, 2010

Turn of the Century - Galt Ontario


Probably an early 1900's Victorian, perhaps not even 'Victorian' at all by true definition, but I think that would be splitting hairs: A very clean, pretty, and simple house, inspired by the Queen Anne style.

Friday, February 5, 2010

Interesting Duplex - Galt Ontario

A rather uncommon duplex located in Galt. Note the slight differences between the two sides, and the impact they make, especially the painted wooden porch versus the one built of pressure treated lumber.

Thursday, February 4, 2010

A Victorian Farmhouse - Galt Ontario


Probably a very early house for this area, I would guess built close to the start of the Victorian Era in the 1850's or 1860's. Simple in style with some Italianate influences, now a threeplex apartment. Many homes in Galt are built from the local stone you see here.

Wednesday, February 3, 2010

The Last of Three - Galt Ontario


Last of three of these nice houses with interesting roofs. Note the similarity between the first and last, which are true to original form in virtually all details, as opposed to the second which sadly has been butchered along the way.

Tuesday, February 2, 2010

Interesting hipped roof - Galt Ontario


A view from the corner showing the very interesting roofline. But what happened to the nice windows? Look at the main floor right side, and upper floor left? Did someone 'improve' the living room and upstairs bath? Yack!

Monday, February 1, 2010

Partly Gabled Shallow Pitch Hipped Roof - Galt Ontario


I can't describe this home's interesting roof design much better than that, but essentially it has a shallow pitched roof, with clipped 'part gables' spanning nearly the entire width of the front of the house. The side walls have a hipped roof. Not very common, but there are three on this street.